Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman is a collection of 24 short stories written between 1981 and 2005 by Japanese author Haruki Murakami (other books I have read by the same author include 1Q84, Sputnik Sweetheart, Norwegian Wood, After Dark, The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, Dance, Dance, Dance, A Wild Sheep Chase).

In the introductory notes, Murakami declares, ‘I find writing novels a challenge, writing stories a joy. If writing novels is like planting a forest, then writing short stories is more like planting a garden.’ This elegant analogy serves to give the reader some idea of what awaits.


One thought on “Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: