Japanese Desserts

I have to admit that I really like Japanese desserts and so I have been missing them terribly now that I am back living in Canada. This blog post is a collection of pictures I took of different desserts consumed in Tokyo. Enjoy, but don’t look on an empty stomach – you have been fairly warned!

Dango is a Japanese dumpling made from mochiko (rice flour) that is usually served in a skewer, with peanut on the side.

Sweets04

Taiyaki is a fish-shaped cake with the most common filling of red bean paste made from sweetened azuki beans.

Sweets06

Azuki or red bean paste is a popular form of filling.

Sweets03

Another typical Japanese dessert is small mochi, Japanese glutinous rice cake, served in a red bean soup.

Sweets05

Royal Host is a popular chain of family restaurants in Tokyo serving desserts in their menu – ice cream, red bean and fruit.

Sweets02

Sweets09

Sweets07

Finally, Japanese style western sundaes FTW!

Sweets01

Sweets08

Which one is your favorite?

Please visit this week’s issue (#15) of Show Me Japan by the good peeps at budgettrouble.com.

showmejapan

15 thoughts on “Japanese Desserts

  1. The last twooooo!!! Love lots of variety and above all…sweet, sweet decadence. *dribble* I just came back from from an all day potluck party and suddenly I’m hungry again… arrrgh ;P

  2. I picked up a novelty beer from the Tokyo Agricultural University last week. It’s made by a brewery up in Hokkaido, using green tea powder. If you’re having the macha sundae, you’ll need the macha beer to go along with it.

  3. *_* If it wasn’t so late at night, I would have to go make an ice cream run! But even if I did I would have a very hard time finding my matcha ice cream in the states! Love this post!

  4. i am excited to have just found your blog, as i began my own work-assignment to Japan this week. so happy to finally know what dango is! i’ve noticed it in the convenience stores and grocery stores and have been very interested to know what it is. thank you.

    • Thank you visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

      I am sure you will have an amazing experience living and working in Tokyo and Japan. Your latest blog posts took me back over 3 years ago when I also first arrived to start my assignment, having a sense of wonder, excitement and some fear.

      I hope you continue to blog your experiences in Japan as I have during my assignment. Embrace the culture fully.

      I’ll add you blog to my RSS reader so I can follow your adventures … gambatte!

  5. Pingback: Photo of the Day: Ice Cream | Konnichiwa

Leave a Reply

