Gundam Big Expo 2009

As part of the 30th anniversary Gundam celebration, the 3 day Gundam Big Expo 2009 is being held this weekend August 21-23, 2009 at Tokyo Big Sight, Odaiba, Tokyo.  Last month, I had visited and blogged about the full size Gundam robot also in Odaiba.

gundam-big-expo-570x348

At the Gundam Big Expo, the history of the very popular Gundam franchise, which began in 1979, will be presented, as well as introductions of new figures and items.

g30

Other attractions of the event include:

  • A short film, Ring of Gundam, by franchise creator Yoshiuki Tomino
  • Nostalgic footage from from the early movies, TV series and OVA
  • 1/144 to 1/10 Gundam figures
  • Paintings of the characters
  • Gundam games and products (including limited items)

For more information, visit the Gundam Big Expo official web site.  We will be attending local summer festivals in our neighborhood this weekend so I will probably not be going to see this expo.

7 thoughts on “Gundam Big Expo 2009

  1. While I do like certain anime, and am a big manga fan, I’ve never gotten into big robot stories. So, the only reason I’ve been paying attention to Gundam is the media frenzy involving the 30th anniversary lately. Turns out that there has been some really good artwork to come out from the show (i.e. – the mecha design exhibit I saw in Hachioji), so I am getting a little more interested in it. But not enough to make a special trip out to Big Sight for it. Maybe next time.

    I think the only reason I have for going to Big Sight at all right now is the upcoming coffee trade show, which should be in a couple of months.

    • I’m not a Gundam fan (neither is my son) but I guess I also got interested in the 30th anniversay and with the full-size Gundam robot they buildt in Odaiba.

      A coffee trade show? Wow, they must have a trade show for everything here!

      • Actually, the Tokyo Coffee show is based on a similar annual event that’s been running in the U.S. for a number of years now. It’s run by a specialty coffee trade group that promotes high-quality, non-Starbucks coffee. The Japanese version of the association put on their first international event 2 years ago. It’s more of a industry event, with bean growers from around the world trying to find distributors in Japan, but it’s open to the public for 1000 yen or so. It’s a great way to try different kinds of coffees, if you like that kind of thing.

        Like the U.S. event, the Japanese event also hosts an international barista competition.

        But yes, they’ve got trade shows for everything here. That’s why I love this place. 😉

        • I see. Well, I like coffee, but not sure if I like it that much that I would attend a coffee trade show. But then, it might just interesting to attend just for the experience.

  2. Pingback: Gundam Statue Returns with Light Saber « Konnichiwa

Leave a Reply

