Hot, Flat, and Crowded

Just finished reading the book titled “Hot, Flat and Crowded” by Thomas Friedman, 3 time Pulitzer Prize winning writer from the New York Times.  Hot, Flat and Crowded means the convergence of three forces:  Global warming, Globalization (which was the topic of his last bestselling book, “The World is Flat”) and Global population growth.

 Hot, Flat and Crowded

Friedman believes that America must lead the green revolution in order to ensure its prosperity in the future, otherwise the consequences will be severe.  With US President Obama’s focus on the environment (and the enormous challenges he and his administration will face especially with the current economic crisis and recession) and the failure of GM and Chrysler (who have been manufacturing gas guzzlers), it is certainly an interesting time and an important topic for our generation.

As with his previous book, this is really aimed at Americans (so keep this in mind if you are not American, like me).  I have to admit that I had a tough time reading this book as I think he used too many long quotes and comments from other people and experts (I realize this was meant to provide some credibility) so the flow was difficult to follow.  Anyway, I have to give it only 3.5 stars out of 5.

4 thoughts on “Hot, Flat, and Crowded

  1. I enjoyed the book – his vision of the future (which he also says is here if we want it) is quite fascinating. As for his overuse of expert quotes – that’s his style and I agree – his points get lost as a result. Everytime I read a Friedman book, I ask myself the same question: “When is this guy going to get an editor?!”

    • I guess I had very high expectations as I thought “The World is Flat” was one of the best books I read. Actually, I did enjoy this book also, and the topic (like all his previous books) is certainly timely and important.

    • You are welcome and thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog as well.

      Don’t feel too bad, your Japanese is probably better than mine, and I have lived here for over 1.5 years – I am just a senile old man 😀

      (Don’t ask how much German I know after working and living in Boebligen for 4 months.)

Leave a Reply

