Yabusame Archery

Last fall, I had attended a Yabusame (horseback archery) event at the Tsurugaoka Hachiman shrine in Kamakura, Japan.  It is very popular and exciting, so I watched it again after the Kusajishi Archery event near the Sumida River in Asakusa.

With my new Canon EOS DSLR and a better vantage point (right behind the last target), I was able to take better pictures this time.  Using a fast shutter speed to freeze the action, below are a number of pictures of the riders as they shot at the target.  Unfortunately, I was not able to get a picture of an archer actually hitting the target – I was close as you can see the arrows in the air.

Yabusame1 Yabusame2

Yabusame3 Yabusame4

Yabusame5 Yabusame6

Yabusame7 Yabusame8

5 thoughts on “Yabusame Archery

  1. Sigh. Now I really wish that I’d had the chance to go watch this. But Asakusa isn’t within my stomping grounds, so it wasn’t practical. As always – nice photos. What’s the next event/festival you plan on going to?

    • Next Yabusame event is at Kamakura in a few weeks I think. Thanks for the nice comments.

      I will probably attend two of the biggest festivals in Tokyo which I missed last year – Sanja Matsuri Festival at the Sensoji Temple in Asakusa and the Kanda Matsuri at Kanda Myojin Shrine in Akihabara. Also, since we are staying in Tokyo for GW (too late booking our travel plans), I’ll probably attend some smaller festivals in the area (haven’t decided yet).

      Finally, although not directly related, I am also planning to see the upcoming Sumo tournament in Tokyo in May.

  2. Pingback: Year In Review: Other Events « Konnichiwa

  3. Pingback: Momote-shiki « Konnichiwa

  4. Pingback: Asakusa « Konnichiwa

Leave a Reply

