Coffee in Japan

When you think of Japan and drinks (the non-alcoholic kind, not sake), you normally think of green tea.  But actually, coffee is very popular in Japan.  Famous American coffee places such as Starbucks and Tully’s are everywhere.

Coffee 1 Coffee 2

But there are also Japanese coffee places serving western style coffee.  Two of the most popular are Doutor and Excelsior, which also serve prepared food (including sandwiches) and pastries.

Coffee 3 Coffee 4

Koots is a Japanese style organic and natural cafe – I haven’t tried this yet.

Coffee 5

You can buy both hot and cold coffee in the many vending machines (as well as convenience stores called combini) in Japan.

Coffee 6

You can get coffee in a can, a plastic (PET) bottle or a plastic cup …

Coffee 7 Coffee 8 Coffee 9

Updated 03/24/2009:  Do read Three Steps Over Japan‘s blog post titled Food in Japan – Coffee for more detail.

5 thoughts on “Coffee in Japan

  1. Do you like coffee?

    Which shop do you like?

    I don’t like Starbucks.
    I go to Doutor (I like their sandwiches and coffee) or McDonalds (their coffee is good…and cheap!)

    Did you know “Doutor” is a Japanese company…but the name is Portuguese?

    You mentioned
    Excelsior Caffee
    but missed a few other coffee shops in Japan:
    Macau Meadows,
    Cafe Colorado, and
    Le Cafe Doutor.

    Doutor owns all of those.

  2. @tokyo5, thanks again for commenting.

    > Do you like coffee?

    I drink both coffee and tea, but I do prefer coffee.

    > Which shop do you like?

    Actually, I do like both Doutor and Excelsior, but do frequent Starbucks sometimes for their Frappucino.

    > Did you know “Doutor” is a Japanese company…but the name is Portuguese?

    No, I didn’t know that – now I am wondering how doctor and coffee go together? Maybe doctors drink a lot of coffee 🙂

    > but missed a few other coffee shops in Japan:

    I am sure I did. In the area where I live and places we normally visit, I do find that Doutor and Excelsior are the most common.

  3. I used to go all the time when I was in Tokyo, but since I moved to Sendai, I all but stopped going to coffee shops. I really like Tully’s and Starbuck’s though.

Leave a Reply

