Hyperdia

One of the most useful (and most used) websites for me while living in Tokyo, Japan is Hyperdia, which is an online resource for train schedules.  Since we don’t have a car, I use the train daily to commute to work and as well, and trains to travel around Japan.

It is simple to use, yet provides a lot of valuable information so you can plan your travel accordingly.  First, you need to input the start and end station – just enter the first few letters of the stations.  Click Search.

 Hyperdia 1

Next, select the date and time (either arrival or departure), select the station from the dropdown (if needed) and click the Start button.

Hyperdia 2

The results will be presented on the next page, with potentially multiple route options.  Select one or just scroll down.

Hyperdia 3

The details of the route gives you times, stations (start, end and transfers) and fares.

Hyperdia 4

Click the Information icon image to display all the stations with both arrival and departure times.

Hyperdia 5

Click the Timetable icon image  to display a full linkable schedule which is useful to determine the time for local (stops on every station) and express (rapid, limited express, semi-express) trains.

Hyperdia 6

7 thoughts on “Hyperdia

  1. I use Hyperdia alot, too. I use the Japanese version (not English) because it seems to give better results (and I like to practice reading Japanese as much as possible).

    I use the DoCoMo train schedule site on my cell-phone more often, though.

    Before the internet, we had to use the timetable board at the stations and estimate the commute time (or, if an exact commute time was required…we’d ask the train station staff).

  2. I use this website all of the time too. At the train stations in Sendai most of the information is only in Japanese, so I’ve had a bit of a hard time buying tickets and reading schedules. There’s nothing like looking at the train map and trying to remember which kanji is your station so you can get the right fare amount. As far as I know this is the only place 100% in English.

  3. Eric, thanks for commenting. Yes, I am quite happy that there are signs in English in all of the Tokyo subways (I think also in Kyoto and the Shinkansen station) – otherwise, I’m screwed cause I can’t read Kanji or Katakana at all.

  4. I can read hiragana, katakana, and a little bit of kanji, but it doesn’t help much when you’re looking at a huge map full of Kanji and no English. Sometimes I stand there staring at it a long time trying to figure it out. Maybe some people think I’m a strange foreigner.

  5. Ironically, for me, as bartman905 said there’s alot of English (and Korean and Chinese) writing on signs in Tokyo’s train and subways stations (alot was added when the Soccer World Cup was joint hosted by Japan / Korea a few years back)…but I don’t need the English now because I can read Japanese now.
    But when I first came here and couldn’t read even a single Japanese character…there was no English at all here.

Leave a Reply

