Tsukiji Fish Market

Tsukiji Fish Market is one of the most famous and popular tourist attractions in Tokyo, especially the early morning tuna auctions at 5:00 am.  It supplies fresh tuna to many sushi restaurants in the Tokyo area and the rest of Japan.

Unfortunately, due to its popularity, tourists will be banned for a month beginning December 15, 2008 according to a recent article in Japan Today.  I have been to Tsukiji for lunch and dinner, but have not witnessed the fish auctions – I love eating sushi, but fish is not that exciting for me to wake up before 5:00 am!

Here is a YouTube video from TokyoCooney with some “behind the scenes” footage that regular tourists will not normally see.  Check it out.

Earlier this year, I wrote a short blog post about a book titled “The Sushi Economy” by Sasha Issenberg which describes Tsukiji’s economic impact and reach.

9 thoughts on “Tsukiji Fish Market

  1. Thanks again for commenting on my blog. (I replied here: http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/12/07/koto-concert/#comment-959 ).

    And I just wrote a new post:
    http://tokyo5.wordpress.com/2008/12/08/december-8th/
    (Please feel free to comment as often as you like on my site!)

    And re: Tsukiji…
    I’ve been to the market for the auction. It’s fun. But it’s also hectic and easy to see how tourists could get in the way of the people trying to work. (And I’ve heard that some visitors touch the fish, despite signs asking them not to!)

  2. Pingback: Tsukiji Fish Market « Konnichiwa | Sushi Restaurants

  3. @Tokyo5, thanks again for commenting. I enjoy following your blog.

    @Wondering Mick, thank you for visiting my blog and commenting. I do also hope you get a chance to visit Tokyo, I’m sure you’ll have a blast!

  4. Yes, I also saw the video. An unfortunate event which gives foreigners a bad name here in Japan by a few when most (99.9%) are well mannered and respectful.

    Of course, you will only hear about the bad, not the good – that’s news.

  5. Pingback: Japan in The News: Tourist Harass Japan’s Geisha « Konnichiwa

  6. Pingback: Top 43 Things to Do and See in Tokyo « Konnichiwa

  7. Pingback: Tokyo Megacity by Donald Richie | Konnichiwa

Leave a Reply

