Ikebana

Last Sunday afternoon, my wife and I attended an Ikebana (生け花) exhibition at the Takashimaya department store in Yokohama, about 30 minutes by train from Tokyo. Ikebana is the traditional art of Japanese flower arranging and has been practiced for more than 600 years. There are many schools of Ikebana, the more internationally well-known ones are Sogetsu, Ikebono and Ohara – ask my wife, she’s the expert, not me (I’m just a sensitive guy, ya sure :-).

It was a relatively small exhibition, but had over 130 displays – we took a lot of pictures but will post only a few here (more on Facebook) that are my wife’s favorites.

As usual, it was very crowded with many people admiring the creative flower arrangements, including same elegant ladies in kimonos.

5 thoughts on “Ikebana

  1. Japan has traditional culture with many aspects that are famous over the world…

    空手 (Karate), 寿司 (sushi), 芸者 (geisha), 歌舞伎 (Kabuki), 相撲 (sumo), 侍 (samurai), 忍者 (ninja), 浮世絵 (ukiyoe), 盆栽 (bonsai), 生け花 (ikebana), etc.

    By the way, I noticed you wrote ikebana (生け花) with the kanji. Can you read Japanese?

  2. Absolutely, Japan has such a rich culture, which is why we are enjoying our stay here so far.

    I hope to watch Sumo next month when it returns to Tokyo, visit Kyoto in the fall or spring (when it is not so hot) to see geishas or maikos and see a Kabuki show in Ginza – so many things to see and do, so little time 🙂

    No, I just copied and pasted the kanji characters, I can’t read any Japanese at all and am just struggling just to speak it.

  3. Sounds like a good plan.
    Hopefully you can do all of it…and more. There’s alot to do and see in Japan.
    The last time I watched Sumo, I got to meet Kotooshu, the Bulgarian Sumo wrestler.

    >I can’t read any Japanese at all and am just struggling just to speak it.

    Yes, it’s quite different from English! ガンバレ (Good luck!)
    BTW, 生け花 (ikebana) literally means “living flower”.

  4. ikebanaofrichmond.org

    “Friendship through Flowers”
    Come browse our forum or look at the photographs

    Let me know what you think…

  5. Pingback: Year In Review: Other Events « Konnichiwa

Leave a Reply

