Star Wars Celebration Japan

On Sunday, my son and I attended the Star Wars Celebration Japan convention, celebrating the 30th anniversary of Star Wars (1977) held at the Makuhari-Messe (Nippon Convention Center) in Chiba, near Tokyo, on July 19-21, 2008.

This was the very first Star Wars convention that I ever attended and it was certainly quite an experience, especially since it was held in Japan. As you would expect, there were lots of exhibits, interviews sessions, artwork, memorabilia, collectibles, autographs, fans and costumes. Mark Hamill was present, signing autographs and also gave a talk about his experiences.

I took lots of pictures of several Star Wars characters (more pictures posted on my Facebook photo album). Of course, there was lots of Stormtroopers patrolling the convention floor and I didn’t know Princess Leia was Japanese.

And when we returned from the convention, my son and I watched all 6 Star Wars movies, in order – a Star Wars DVD movie marathon 🙂

11 thoughts on “Star Wars Celebration Japan

  1. I came to Japan in November 2007 on a business trip and my family moved here with me on January 2008. I am here on a 2 year international assignment with my company.

    I have a 12 year old son attending a dual language international school near were we live.

  2. Costume designer plays a major role in designing costumes; he is the hero of costume world. Most stores do not have Star Wars Costumes available to ship; here we can ship out costumes today for all to enjoy the designs of Eastern Toys.

  3. Pingback: Year In Review: Exhibitions « Konnichiwa

  4. Pingback: Star Wars Celebration Japan: The Vader Project « Konnichiwa

  5. Pingback: Star Wars Celebration Japan: Cosplay « Konnichiwa

Leave a Reply

