Japanese Style Welcome Party

Last week, some of my Japanese co-workers took me to a restaurant bar in Yamato to officially welcome me to Japan and the team. This type of event is more commonly called nomikai, which is a traditional drinking welcome party. There were several (I lost count) courses of food served, in small dishes (mainly fish, which is their speciality). For drinks, I had beer, shōchū, cold sake, warm sake, highball shōchū mixed with green tea, etc. (I also lost count).

My thanks to the team for this wonderful Japanese experience. I had a great time. Below is a picture of the restaurant, seating Japanese style, before the festivities started.

Leave a Reply

